Flint knappers

Moderator: Moderators

MJ

Flint knappers

Postby MJ » Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:37 pm

Any other flint knappers here? I've always wondered how far into the bronze (or even iron) age flint knapping extended?

sally
Post Knight

Postby sally » Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:38 pm

I've done a little, but can only really do fairly plain neolithic type blades. Have sat adoringly at the feet of John Lord a couple of times as he's magicked me up a complete flint toolset though 8) I love the way he can churn out flint sawblades and drillbits on demand, wish I was even a twentieth as good.

MedicKitten

Postby MedicKitten » Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:51 pm

I'm just a VERY VERY new beginner, as we are learning it in "Lithic Technology" class, but I know a few very good knappers from the Pequot tribe out here in the states. They're amazingly good at microlith production.

Ita erat quando hic adveni.

m300572
Post Centurion

Postby m300572 » Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:12 pm

Flint was used into the Bronze Age, probably because it was cheap and easy to get hold of flint in a lot of the country (not all I know) as opposed to bronze. It was also used in the Iron Age - the shale bracelet indusrtry at Kimmeridge probably used flint rather than metal for roughing out shale bracelets on a lathe - again probably as it was cheaper and easier to use flint than to get iron tools which would wear out fairly fast.

MJ

Postby MJ » Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:49 pm

Thanks m300572, that's what I thought.

MedicKitten, keep at it! I think it's something that takes nearlya lifetime to become really proficient at. :lol:

sally, I've spent a total of 3 days with John Lord - fantastic guy, very skilled and a good laugh too. I've also spent a couple of hours with his son Will. I'm nowhere near as good as those two but - before the rain started - I did knap a small blade this weekend using my new antler hammer.

David Freeman

flint

Postby David Freeman » Sat Apr 01, 2006 1:14 pm