Looking for reenactment group in the north east

Re-Enactment Societies - details and links

Moderator: Moderators

Ryan8298

Looking for reenactment group in the north east

Postby Ryan8298 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 5:14 pm

Hi!

Im new to the reenactment scene but it has been something i have been heavily interested in for a while now. I was wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of some societies in the north east, preferably close to Newcastle.

Im not bothered about the time period, as i think it was the initial amazement at watching 2 people swordplay that got me hooked. Thank you to anyone who responds, i appreciate it.

Tetardd

Re: Looking for reenactment group in the north east

Postby Tetardd » Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:05 am

Ryan,

Check us out at Dawn of Chivalry (https://www.dawnofchivalry.co.uk/). We are a traveling knights reenactment group, depicting the 13th century. We do shows for the likes of English Heritage. We are heavily focused on combat so would match exactly what you are after.

We train in Hartlepool but we are organising combat taster session in Durham (next one 11th April): https://www.facebook.com/events/1598828993571608/

Entry into the group is extremely easy as we have spare group kit. Our next show is at Warkworth castle 21 and 22nd April. If you want to come and check us out then, you'll see some of what we do. And if you come on Saturday, I invite you to stay behind after the public is gone so that you can have a behind the scenes visit of the camp and hear about what we do.

David
Dawn of Chivalry, Deputy Authenticity Officer.

Tetardd

Postby Tetardd » Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:06 am

I also forgot, some of us at Dawn of Chivalry are also involved in that type of swordplay called HEMA:

http://www.durhammedievalcombatacademy.org/

D.

40/- freeholder

Postby 40/- freeholder » Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:27 am