Hardest bit of kit to make ??

Making, Pictures, Queries, Resources

Moderator: Moderators

saxon

Hardest bit of kit to make ??

Postby saxon » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:28 pm

What's the hardest piece of kit you've ever made ? i.e. hard as in a 'pain' or 'fiddly' and did it turn out right ? .............. would you make another ? :lol: :P

Jenn

Postby Jenn » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:51 pm

a padded jack for sheer effort - not sure
A really well fitting pair of long hose - yes but only if I loved them very much
a dress with a wheel farthingale - not if I can help it

Quayn

Postby Quayn » Fri Sep 15, 2006 7:03 pm

I'd have to say hose, though bear in mind i'm pretty new at this but with the constant reconfiguring of said hose I'm actually to a point where i'd make for anyone... actually i take that back, I'd consider for anyone. My only pat on the back really has to be my lack of any pattern or adequate prior garment to make from. I've seen rough shapes and gone from there. I've been through the big wow of being told about the bias of wool for hose and also pointed out about how and where everything should stick, cling, go. I'm so thankful for the help but still not doing to bad.

Yep, hose.
Q.

Neibelungen
Post Centurion

Postby Neibelungen » Fri Sep 15, 2006 7:09 pm

Charge of the Light Brigade 1850 Officers Dolman and Pelise.

20m hand made chain gimp
45 m gold russia traceing

The entire thing was completely hand sewn including handmade chain gimp (a three loop trumpet cord if anybody has ever made it)

Took 3 weeks of work or something like 150 hours.

And the price was one of those only ask if you know you can afford it.

Marcus Woodhouse
Absolute Wizard

Postby Marcus Woodhouse » Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:08 pm

Cups of tea for the wife as she does the sewing.

OSTENDE MIHI PECUNIAM!

chrisanson
Post Centurion

Postby chrisanson » Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:36 pm