Reliable sources that don't break the bank

Making, Pictures, Queries, Resources

Moderator: Moderators

Grania

Reliable sources that don't break the bank

Postby Grania » Sat May 08, 2010 7:33 pm

Hi folks

I'm looking around for some decent reliable sources for 18th Century womens clothing. I've been given a few recommendations, but I just can't seem to find the right things. Does anyone know of anywhere I can find such things?

I'm also in need of a suitable set of stays, as I've been borrowing someone else's spare pair and they don't fit me too well. Not being the best with a needle I could really do with having them made, but there are lots of people on the internet and I'm not keen to risk choosing the wrong people. Also working on a relatively limited budget - not tooooo limited, but I am a student so I need to be a bit care. Same goes for shoes if anyone has any ideas?

Thanks. Sorry for all the fishing for information.
Grania

"...I hear your voice calling, through the silence of time..."

(Shaun Davey "Hear Me")

lidimy
Post Knight

Re: Reliable sources that don't break the bank

Postby lidimy » Sat May 08, 2010 9:30 pm

Grania wrote:Hi folks

I'm looking around for some decent reliable sources for 18th Century womens clothing. I've been given a few recommendations, but I just can't seem to find the right things. Does anyone know of anywhere I can find such things?

I'm also in need of a suitable set of stays, as I've been borrowing someone else's spare pair and they don't fit me too well. Not being the best with a needle I could really do with having them made, but there are lots of people on the internet and I'm not keen to risk choosing the wrong people. Also working on a relatively limited budget - not tooooo limited, but I am a student so I need to be a bit care. Same goes for shoes if anyone has any ideas?

Thanks. Sorry for all the fishing for information.
Grania

Would be interested to follow this thread...