Be kind

Making, Pictures, Queries, Resources

Moderator: Moderators

Gothic-Haven

Be kind

Postby Gothic-Haven » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:07 pm

this is my first attempt at sewing since the 5th form.. its all hand sewn and needs hemming and pressing but i am rather pleased with it. moss green linen
Attachments
100_0773.JPG
100_0774.JPG

"its the bubbles.. they get lodged in me chest"
"mmm yes there's room for a few lodgers in there!"
www.gothichaven.com/gothic-clothing

Alice the Huswyf
Post Knight

Postby Alice the Huswyf » Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:26 pm

Good start! Lookung forward to seeing it finished. I would stay stitch your neckline now before it stretches any further to save yout difficult handling later.

Gothic-Haven

Postby Gothic-Haven » Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:57 pm

it is all hemmed apart from the bottom so I am a bit worried about the neckline and hope it will look better with the chemise and a different bra.. thanks for the comments though it really has been 30 odd years since i sewed anything other than a button

"its the bubbles.. they get lodged in me chest"

"mmm yes there's room for a few lodgers in there!"

www.gothichaven.com/gothic-clothing

hamster

Postby hamster » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:40 am

:D like the colour well done

Alice the Huswyf
Post Knight

Postby Alice the Huswyf » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:54 am

Try wearing it, correctly without a bra. You will be surprised at the difference in fit. If you have a centre front seam for lacing, take a shallow 'dart ' in from the neckline - this will ease the gape and improve fit and definition over the breasts.

(The whole no bra point is partly period-improbable lift, but mainly the chest strap cutting into the soft flesh of the back. It can be seen clear across a camp and ruins the look and crdibility of all the work.)