Nice manners for C18th Misses and Masters - help?

Historic questions, thoughts and other interesting stuff

Moderator: Moderators

Alice the Huswyf
Post Knight

Nice manners for C18th Misses and Masters - help?

Postby Alice the Huswyf » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:06 pm

Lidimy posed this question on another thread and actually I think it merits a thread of it's own

"I'm going to feel very self conscious when I go on my first 18thC outing now...

Is there anything else about 18thC posh lady etiquette that needs to be known? A bit of a Cuba but if you could PM me or email or so, I really would like to know as it's a period I still know very little about and I don't want to do it wrong! "

My considered answer was this (drawing on modern behaviour as well as what little I know specifically)

Lidi - I am still learning myself. Simply if the clothes make it difficult to move in that way, then it is not an expected movement. Be aware of sight lines: curtseys are probably straight baked, not only beuase of stays and posture, but it also stops an eagle eye view down your bodice. Hence the value of fichus in daywear!

A lot of it comes down to the preferred demeanour of the times. Modesty in the young and the respectable is always required: therefore sexiness develops from the smallest detail as I was saying before. A lot of it is probably gender political but mostly it boils down to this: in modern terms (taking away period pressure to marry by station or money) men can honestly admit that they lust after/would bed Page Three Gal - but wouldn't necessarily want to be in a relationship with her - they would choose Girl Next Door . Men can psychologically separate 'just sex' and 'real love' very easily, unlike women. With Page Three Gal they have to be The Man. With Girl Next Door they can be themselves. Girl Next Door may not pull a lot at shool, but potentially can make a firmer marriage.