archaeological examples of shields?

Historic questions, thoughts and other interesting stuff

Moderator: Moderators

Malcolm

archaeological examples of shields?

Postby Malcolm » Fri Aug 15, 2008 4:31 pm

Hello all, I am a university student studying archaeology and a reenactor also, and for my dissertation i was hoping to research as far as i can into the composition and structure of shields from say 750 to 1250/1300AD ish, and what i'm really after is archaeological examples of shields during this period, i have yet to completely settle what my dissertation title will be, hence the broad spectrum.

Nonetheless i would really appreciate any links, refferences and especially pictures anyone could provide.

I am aware of this http://members.ozemail.com.au/~chrisand ... hield.html little online article on viking shields, and i'm looking for books on amazon, but it's hard to tell whats useful and what is as informative as yet another child's book going 'yay vikings!' :roll:

anyway, yes, feed me your information! :wink:

Tell me everything you know, even if it takes me ten days to understand, feed me knowledge.

Joolz

Postby Joolz » Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:46 am

Have you tried 'The Anglo Saxon Shield' by I P Stephenson (ISBN 0752425293)?

It's packed with archaeological examples, and is extremely useful on shield construction, decoration, use etc. up until the 10th/11thC. It also briefly covers the other main weapons used at this time.

Hope it helps,

Joolz

Mickey Mouse is dead!

l'Enfer, c'est les autres...

(all my images and designs are copyright)

m300572
Post Centurion

Postby m300572 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:20 am