Equipment Update.

Moderator: Moderators

Le Loup

Equipment Update.

Postby Le Loup » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:13 pm

Just a couple of images of some of the equipment I am carrying on treks at present. Finally I managed to get a flintlock pistol. The ramrod was too short to be practicle, which seems to be a common problem, so I made a new wood ramrod with an antler tip.

No change here, this is my .62 caliber flintlock fusil that I have been carrying for many years.

My brass cannon barrel .70 caliber flintlock pistol with a left hand lock. I am not left handed, but can shoot with either hand, & the left hand lock allows me to carry it under my belt on my right side.

A closer look at the new ramrod I made.

Keith.

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I, I took the one less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference.
Robert Frost

http://woodsrunnersdiary.blogspot.com.au/

madjon

Re: Equipment Update.

Postby madjon » Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:01 am

Couldn't load plug in message again, nice collection of kit, the hatchet is a good size, with brass/bronze barrel on old guns, be aware of crystalization of the metal, not visible to the eye, but in old metal it occurs and can lead to barrel failure, so don't hold them the first couple of times they are fired, fire from a clamp, if they don't explode crack or bulge the first couple of times then they are usually good, a slightly coarser powder doesn't hurt, a drop to around 160 ft/s from about 180 ft/s initial velocity, in the UK if you wander around with a pistol in your belt then there's a good chance of being shot by the police, so a difference in local rules

Le Loup

Postby Le Loup » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:35 am