Re: what oil is best for a yew longbow please

Moderator: Moderators

thekingmaker

Postby thekingmaker » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:29 pm

i was bought a yew long bow for my birthday and it shots lovely.
My wife and me a bow bag from caleco which i keep it in unstrung when it not in use but as i am new at real longbow ( i mean made from wood) as my other bows iv had in the past have been recurve bows made of fiberglass so i need help in looking after my yew longbow as iv not had one before so can any one please help me out with advice on how to keep it good working order. i know you are ment to keep them oiled but i would like to know whats the best oil to use and how to put it on the bow .i mean do i pour it on the bow and let it soke in or do i pour the oil on a cloth and rub it on the bow that way as if i was polishing it :crazy: . i would also like to ask how often do you recomend i do i oil the bow.

and help will be great as i need it lol as im new to wooden bows and im going to stick to them as i find they shot better.

thanks for your time and i hope someone out there can help me out. :D

Alan E

Postby Alan E » Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:28 am

I've been told that oil will soften the wood. Best thing (if it isn't varnished) is to use beeswax: Melt some and dip a cloth in, allow to cool. Use bees-wax'd cloth to polish the bow. Friction will warm it enough to leave a thin layer, which will protect against damp and prevent the last vestiges of moisture drying out (so the bow remains flexible).

If it's varnished, jst dust it occasionally :D

For traditional care of the longbow, get a copy of Toxophilus by Roger Ascham.

'till whispers fill the tower of memory...
The Exiles Company of Medieval Martial Artists: http://the-exiles.org.uk/

Now teaching Fiore's art in Ceredigion (Felinfach) - pm for details

Hobbitstomper

Postby Hobbitstomper » Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:41 am

Parafin ir diesel oil.