mid 14th century knight

Moderator: Moderators

julesheath

mid 14th century knight

Postby julesheath » Sat May 21, 2011 10:11 pm

Hi folks, I'm a secondary school history teacher and recently helped run a medieval day for our year 7s. I dressed up and did a presentation for them on Knights and medieval warfare. It was a great day and my gear did the trick for the kids, but I realise that compared to the folks on here I looked like a bit of a muppet. My aim for next year's event is to do something a bit more authentic and I would like to go for a mid 14th Century look, with a mix of maille and plate. So a few questions:
1. What kind of Gambeson should I get? I hate the one that I've got, it's massive and makes me look like the Michelin man.
2. What should I be wearing on my legs beneath the armour?
3. I've seen several people portraying this period wearing leather leg and arm armour with metal plates riveted to it. I'd like to have a go at making some of this as I've done a fair bit of leatherwork, but would love to see a source to base it on if anyone can provide.

Any other advice would be gratefully received, thanks
JH

Chris T

Re: mid 14th century knight

Postby Chris T » Sat May 21, 2011 11:17 pm

As a general guideline gambesons should be firm: think camping mat, not feather duvet. There were two main construction methods, either multiple layers of fabric or tubes stuffed with waste cloth, tow etc.
Getting the stuffed version right needs a certain amount of trial and error: the multiple layer ones have the advantage that you can get an idea of how it is going to turn out from small test samples. For your purposes, and since it is not going to be seen, almost any material can be used for the inner layers, but if you use recycled materials you are advised to wash them first!